Bruce

Cactus Euphorbia or Columnar Cactus

200202_MansWorld_074.jpg
IMG_6316.JPEG
ZRH_promoflächen_april_19_0046.jpg

«Columnar Cactus» Bruce and the Wild West 

If you like «Butch Cassidy» or John Wayne movies, «Bruce» is the ideal setting. This succulent plant seems to have come straight out of a Western. It looks like a columnar cactus, but botanically it belongs to the euphorbia. However, the care requirements are similar.

 

Because «Bruce» loves a dry, hot climate, little water and a bright location, but is otherwise very easy to care for. There is only little that needs to be taken into account: As he develops quite quickly into a handsome fellow, it is best to give him enough space right from the start. Also spare him the blazing midday sun.

 

During the summer months, you can easily place him in a sunny to semi-shady place outdoors after a period of habituation, but make sure that he does not get any rain (possibly keep him under a roof).

 

In autumn, the euphorbia must be moved to the inside in good time, where it ideally hibernates in a room with a temperature of at least 15 degrees C, with plenty of daylight and little water.

 

If the columnar euphorbia becomes too high, it can be cut. But be careful: the milky latex causes skin irritation, so gloves should be worn when working.

ZRH_promoflächen_april_19_0046.jpg

Behind the euphorbia «Bruce» hides a sturdy South African 

The «columnar cactus» Bruce belongs to the large family of euphorbias and is native to South Africa. The shoots of this succulent plant act as a water reservoir and guarantee good chances of survival in dry and hot regions. In their native habitat, these plants grow up to ten meters high - depending on the species - and in indoor cultivation they can grow between one and two and a half meters.

 

Euphorbia is a succulent plant whose milky latex - poisonous to us - has a protective function for the plant. It was formerly used by the local population despite its toxicity. It was employed to treat injured tendons, as an ointment against head diseases, and also paralysis, migraine, sciatica and jaundice were treated with it. Surprisingly, there are wild animals in Africa that have adapted to the poisonous latex and can eat the plant without harm.

Order now online

Bruce

Cactus Euphorbia ou Cactus cierge

200202_MansWorld_074.jpg
IMG_6316.JPEG
ZRH_promoflächen_april_19_0046.jpg

 «Cactus cierge» Bruce et le Far West 

Si vous aimez «Butch Cassidy» ou si vous appréciez les films de John Wayne, «Bruce» est le décor idéal. Cette plante succulente semble être directement sortie d'un western. Elle ressemble à un cactus cierge, mais botaniquement, elle appartient à l'euphorbe. Toutefois, les exigences sont similaires.

 

Parce que «Bruce» aime un climat sec et chaud, peu d'eau et une position lumineuse. Sinon, il est très facile à soigner. Il n'y a que peu de choses à prendre en compte: comme il se développe assez rapidement et devient un beau garçon, il vaut mieux lui laisser suffisamment d'espace dès le début. Epargnez-lui même le soleil brûlant de midi. Pendant les mois d'été, après une acclimatation progressive, vous pouvez le placer dans un endroit extérieur ensoleillé ou semi-ombragé. Mais assurez-vous qu'il ne reçoit pas d'eau de pluie (éventuellement en le gardant sous un toit).

 

En automne, l'euphorbe doit être déplacée à l'intérieur, où elle devrait idéalement passer l'hiver dans une pièce où la température est d'au moins 15 degrés C, où la lumière du jour est abondante et avec peu d'eau. Si l'euphorbe colonnaire devient trop haute, elle peut être coupée.

 

Mais attention: le latex blanchâtre est extrêmement irritant pour la peau. Il est donc conseillé de porter des gants pour travailler.

ZRH_promoflächen_april_19_0046.jpg

Derrière l'Euphorbe «Bruce» se cache un Sud-Africain trapu 

Le «cactus cierge» Bruce appartient à la grande famille des euphorbes et est originaire d'Afrique du Sud. Ses pousses épaissies agissent comme un réservoir d'eau et assurent de bonnes chances de survie à la succulente dans les régions sèches et chaudes. Dans leur habitat naturel, ces plantes peuvent atteindre dix mètres de haut - selon l'espèce - et en culture d'intérieur, elles peuvent atteindre entre un et deux mètres et demi.

 

L'euphorbe est une succulente dont le latex blanchâtre - pour nous toxique - a une fonction protectrice pour la plante. Dans le passé, il était utilisé par la population locale malgré sa toxicité. On se servait de ce produit pour soigner les tendons blessés, comme onguent contre les maladies de la tête, et aussi pour traiter la paralysie, la migraine, la sciatique et la jaunisse. Étonnamment, il existe en Afrique des animaux sauvages qui se sont adaptés au latex toxique et qui peuvent manger la plante sans tomber malades.

Commander en ligne

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Tél.: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

S'abonner à la newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch